The twenty-seventh of January, 2011: he’s a poor lad

Two things I have learned recently about my old home town.

One: its rugby league side, Wakefield Trinity (and you can call it Wakefield Trinity Wildcats as much as you like, I’m not buying it), might shortly be going down the tubes. I’m not much of a rugby league fan, but I know heritage when I see it, and it looks a lot like this (see also this), and this, and this. It would be a shame, that’s all, if there were no Trinity in the top flight.

Two: my Dad’s old school, QEGS (Queen Elizabeth Grammar School) in Wakefield, has a great motto: turpe nescire. Which means ‘it is a disgrace to be ignorant’, or something along those lines. I might have it engraved on a pediment, or similar.

And to finish, an appropriate and lovely bit of music. Here’s the original. And here‘s a gratuitous bit of soppiness off of the telly.

One response to “The twenty-seventh of January, 2011: he’s a poor lad

  1. I did not know that. That is a cool motto. Good old QEGS.
    Speaking of cool mottos, the Royal Society has ‘Nullius in Verba’, usually translated as ‘on the word of no one’.
    That is also cool.

Leave a Reply

