The thirtieth of November, 2010: the Mute of Kampen

Friday’s Clutterbuck was all about snow, and today’s is too. This is because not a great deal has happened to me today (I could have blogged on the Guardian crossword, I suppose).

The above picture, in an excellent piece by the Guardian’s curiously posed art critic Jonathan Jones, reminded me how much I like Flemish snow paintings. In fact I like most Flemish paintings. In fact, Flemings full-stop are all right with me (sooner or later I’ll be writing a post on Andreas Vesalius, the Flemish anatomist).

This is the first Flemish snow painting I thought of when I looked at Jones’ article (as it happens, he links to it in the article, too): Pieter Bruegel’s ‘Hunters In The Snow’.

Great, isn’t it?

But I’d never heard of Hendrick Avercamp, the Mute of Kampen. Alas I don’t have time to research the fellow properly (another time, maybe). Here, though, are some lovely Avercamp links: a little video; a zoomable ‘A Scene On The Ice Near A Town‘ (c.1615) – isn’t the internet great these days?;  a scholarly analysis; and, finally, the man himself.

A Scene on the Ice near a TownA Scene on the Ice near a Town’A Scene on the Ice near a Town’

One response to “The thirtieth of November, 2010: the Mute of Kampen

  1. I like snow pictures too, you can get away with leaving a lot of the paper blank.

Leave a Reply

