The nineteenth of November, 2010: the barrelman

A brief one today. It’s the barrelman!

He’s not brilliant, is he? But he was a present, so I shouldn’t be ungrateful. He was a gift from Leeds’ twin city, Dortmund. He’s by Arthur Schulze-Engels, apparently. He stands in Leeds’ Dortmund Square (I never knew that it was called that, but it is).

On balance, where Leeds statuary is concerned, I prefer the boules people.

 

One response to “The nineteenth of November, 2010: the barrelman

  1. Ha ha. My Grandpa, with the surname of Cooper, insisted to me when I was young that this was a statue of his Dad, the “original Cooper” – because that’s what a barrel man is don’t you know? I believed that for rather a longer time than I ought to have done, and I still like to pretend it’s true now if I can get away with it.

Leave a Reply

