The fifth of November, 2010: Herbert’s homilies

A shortish one today, as Guy Fawkes’ Night and Christmas crowd upon me in various ways. This has nothing to do with either. It has to do, in the first instance, with hope, a subject I was researching in relation to next month’s Liars League event.

“He that lives in hope danceth without music.”

That’s from George Herbert’s oft-quoted Outlandish Proverbs (1640). I read some Herbert at university, and found some of his religious poems – ‘The Collar‘, in particular – surprisingly affecting (an atheist reading of ‘The Collar’ tends towards the pitying). But I’d not come across the Outlandish Proverbs before.

A couple more of George’s bon mots:

Every path hath a puddle.

Life is halfe spent before we know what it is.

A gloomy sort of bird (to quote Bertie Wooster on Byron), taking things the hard way.

One response to “The fifth of November, 2010: Herbert’s homilies

  1. I think Bertie Wooster has a lot of good things to say about life. I quite like this Herbert chap as well going by the quotes you’ve put up here. Put more up! Go on, do the hard work for me…

    I agree wholeheartedly that life is half way through before we know what it is. In fact I’m exactly half way through, according to the 3 score years and 10 rule, and I think I’ve just about got the idea now.

    Probably.

Leave a Reply

